to watch!

No no no. I haven’t abandoned you. I’m just too lazy to get off my arse and log on to my computer.

I have been trapped in a mayhem of movie reruns, Chinese food and girl-time, and haven’t had time or inspiration to actually write anything.

In all honesty, I did try writing about Cosmopolitan India’s October 2011 cover featuring actor Kareena Kapoor. It landed on my lap as I watching an episode of Modern Family. I did log on to WordPress and click on ‘New Post’. But the next five minutes were spent with my fingers resting on the keyboard as I realized that I just couldn’t come up with anything.

Two days later, out of sheer rebellion against my everyday salmon and spinach lunch, I cooked up a pot of impromptu chicken biryani and even before I could dig into a plateful of it, I took photographs, religiously…even as drool stated to trickle down my chin. And yet I just didn’t feel like writing it up. I call this laziness, like I mentioned before….but let’s go with ‘writers’ block’ (it just sounds fancy).

Anyway. Let’s move on to the movies I’ve been feasting my eyes on. And since I’m good with lists, here goes:

5 Movies You Should Try Watching This Coming Weekend  (if you haven’t already):

1) The September Issue, 2009

Yes yes, some you you fashioncrazydoos have already seen it. But see it again. Watch how Anna Wintour’s chilly yet somehow enthusiastic feedback on styled spreads make her seem intimidating. The keyword here is “seem”, because if you’re from the world of architecture, you’ll agree that she is anything but intimidating….she’s a darling compared to the Professors, supervisors and bosses we’ve had over the years. At least she doesn’t tear the spreads into pieces with her nails.

Also watch it for how two totally different people work together for more than two decades with nothing but mutual respect for each other’s talent.The movie is always a good watch, especially if you’re looking for inspiration.

2) Luck by Chance, 2009

Yes OK, it’s a product of Bollywood.  And you would actually need to look a little harder to find a copy with English sub-titles. However, the movie is definitely worth a watch. It follows an ordinary Mumbai-based boy from a middle-class family trying his luck at the doorstep of the multi-crore Hindi cinema industry. He is just one tiny entity out of the thousands of youngsters that travel to Mumbai every day in hopes of making it in Bollywood. The direction is critically acclaimed, the acting is lack-lustre throughout the movie which is honestly, quite a let down. But the storyline and cinematography does make up for it.

More than anything, watch the movie for its one song Baawre Baawre. The song pictography and choreography make it a visual delight. It takes Indian folk and carnival performers, what they look like, what they wear, what they carry and takes it to a pronounced avant-garde. Right from a very Willy Wonka-ish Hrithik Roshan who is sharply dressed as a ringmaster in a suit more suited for Dr. Facilier to a very awkwardly pretty Isha Sharvani in a skin-tight sequined bodysuit.

3) The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of The Unicorn, 2011

Right. Before you smirk or guffaw at that, just stop. I know how most of you remember poring over Remi’s masterpiece as kids, and to be honest, the movie did keep me entertained through all the 109 minutes of it. Try watching the chase sequence through Bagghar without a grin on your face. I sat in the theatre and pointed out every similarity between the comic book and the scenes, much to the irritation of my fellow movie-goers. And that continued till the time the man sitting right in front of me turned around and said, “We know!” in the most exasperated way.

4) Rockstar, 2011

Another one fresh off Bollywood’s press. Director Imtiaz Ali has worked harder than ever over this one and you can tell from the way he tries to handle the film, but the story is mediocre at its best, and the acting is sadly, lack-lustre. But watch it for A. R. Rehman’s infallible compositions, inspiring and soulful. And the best reason would be to watch it for how designer Aki Narula dressed Ranbir Kapoor in an array of military-inspired jackets and harems bordering on patialas.

5) Tower Heist, 2011

I haven’t seen it yet. And Eddie Murphy’s back. Hence: its on my list for the weekend.

Enjoy, you folks!

Published by

Amrita

Thirty-four, recovering chocoholic, serial traveler, bookworm, pencil-addict, dance fiend, architect, born eater, allergic to rules, always at the wrong end of things, Doesn't really give a damn...

your stories and comments make my day!